2018 Oklahoma Creativity Ambassadors Announced

Facebook Thumbnail

The 2018 Ambassador honorees who will be present to receive their awards from Governor Fallin will be Don Betz, Education; Enoch Kelly Haney, Arts & Politics; Lou Kerr, Philanthropy & Community Development; Steve Prescott, Medical Research; Wade Scaramucci, Architecture; Richard “Dick” Sias, Philanthropy & Arts; and B.J. Thomas, Music.

“Throughout our history, Oklahoma has grown and prospered because of creative and innovative people,” said Susan McCalmont, President of Creative Oklahoma. “This year’s recipients are truly contributors to our economy and quality of life because of their impact in the sectors of education, commerce and culture.”

Creative Oklahoma was founded in 2006 with the goal to develop, promote and celebrate Oklahoma’s creativity and innovation in education, commerce and culture. The Oklahoma Creativity Ambassadors Gala promotes and celebrates that mission by honoring the work and contributions of those individuals who are among the state’s most creative leaders. This event also supports programs of Creative Oklahoma including the Oklahoma Creative Communities, the Districts of Creativity Network, and the new MIT-affiliated Oklahoma Venture Mentoring Program, to advance creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship in Oklahoma schools, workplaces, and communities.

The Oklahoma Creative Communities initiative provides research-based creative problem solving training and support for citizens in nine Oklahoma communities as they develop and implement their ideas to improve quality of life and the economy in their towns. The Oklahoma Venture Mentoring Program, an outreach program of MIT, fills a void in the Oklahoma entrepreneurial ecosystem which will match up aspiring entrepreneurs with experienced, successful business leaders and teams.

Former Oklahoma Creativity Ambassador inductees encompass a wide-ranging list of the state’s creative talent including Blake Shelton, Sam Presti, Toby Keith, Leona Mitchell, Bart Conner, John Herrington and Hanson.

Honorees will receive the designation of Oklahoma Creativity Ambassadors from Governor Mary Fallin at the Gala event scheduled for Monday, April 9th at the Civic Center Music Hall. Bart Conner, Burns Hargis and David Holt will make remarks during the evening. Alex Cameron from KWTV will be the host of the evening. Tickets and sponsorship information can be found on the Creative Oklahoma website at stateofcreativity.com or by contacting Stéphanie Coderre Porras by phone 405-232-5570×2 or by email at stephanie@stateofcreativity.com. The media is invited to attend.

Register Here 
Sponsorship Opportunities
State of Creativity Homepage

Post Viewed 148 Times.